Skip To Main Content

At their May 20 regular meeting, the Joshua ISD Board of Trustees recognized many members of the JISD family.

The board recognized the Joshua NJROTC for completing one of its most successful years as a Distinguished Unit with Academic Honors and named Best Unit in Area 19. The Rifle Teams swept the Area Championship, took four teams to the Service Championships and placed in the All Service Championship.  Seven Joshua Marksmen advanced to the National Junior Olympics in Colorado Springs.  The Drill Team qualified for State and the Armed Drill Team took 3rd Place.  The Academic Team finished in the Top 3%.  The Cadets that had so much success this year are: Cadet Courtney Womack, Cadet Nolan Sharp, Cadet Ryland Aguzzi, Cadet Hunter Cook, Cadet Jaren Vickers, Cadet Carter Trahan, Cadet Hunter White, Cadet Bunch, Cadet Golleher, Cadet Nathan Catoe and Cadet Brooklyn Reames.

The board recognized the JHS UIL Academics, Speech, and Debate teams. The team won the District 8-5A Championship with 545 points. Individual teams winning championships at District included Speech, Calculator Applications, Computer Science, Mathematics, and Social Studies. District Runner-up teams included Journalism, Current Issues & Events, Literary Criticism, and Numbersense. Twenty-three students advanced to the Regional Academic Meet at Texas Tech University. At the Regional Academic, Speech & Debate meet at Texas Tech University, the team came in 6th place overall. The Computer Science team finished as Regional Champions. In total, six JHS students advanced to the State Academic Meet in Computer Science, Current Issues & Events, and Ready Writing. At the State UIL Academic Meet, Jaxon Dial had a perfect score, earning him the Computer Science State Champion for Class 5A. The City of Joshua Mayor, Scott Kimble, read a proclamation and announced that May 20, 2024 is Jaxon Dial Day in the city. The students recognized were: Jaxon Dial, Cole Anderson, Ella Farrell, Folu Olajide, Caden Tiwater, Maverick Thompson, Rehder Myhre, Sierra Stillson, Kaylee Yuan, Rylie Fleming, Presley Noojin, Thandeka Kabo, Julia Pena, Jaedon Cox, Kaitlyn Tyk, Addison Zelazny,  Logan Danton, Arfan Hossain,  Laura Hapke, Diego Ramirez Montoya, Nick Smith, Emma Rodgers, Vee Hewett,  Nathaniel Houston, Aiden Gresham, Lincoln Douglas,  Abigale Miller, Luke Breedlove, Shane Waits, Kennedi  Boren, Brianna Schooler, Sushanta Neupane, Jacob Wright, Subrav Pokhrel, and Hiya Patel.

UIL Academics, Speech, and Debate teams

The board recognized the Loflin Middle School band for their accomplishments this year. The Loflin Symphonic Band made a 1st Division Rating in Sight-Reading at the Region 30 UIL Band Festival. The Loflin Honor Band made a Sweepstakes Rating in both Concert and Sight-reading. At the District Solo and Ensemble Festival Loflin had 122 students make a 1st division rating and 17 of those were awarded Outstanding Soloist for their room. Students who made IHB: Charlie Garcia, Mitchel Maughon, Brennan Fambro, Aryan Hossain, Bradley Hunt, Jaxson Kirchmann, Case Eison, Jackson Thomas, Jacob Franks. Students who earned and Outstanding Soloist designation at Solo and Ensemble:  Amelia Franks, Angela Lin, Anthony Flores, Aryan Hossain, Bradley Hunt, Chaz Norman, Loflin Clarinet Trio, Eliseo Dermas, Ethan Welman, Hannah Richardson, Jaxon Alvey, Kelsie Menchaca Cervantes, McKinley Simmons, Rayce Dooley, Santiago Rios, Seth Ripper, Violet Brennan.

Loflin Middle School band

The board recognized the Varsity girls golf team for their successful year that ended with six Top-5 finishes and two team titles. Kaylee Yuan won the District and Region 1 Tournament Titles and went on to represent Joshua at the UIL State tournament where she finished 5th in state. Other varsity golf team members recognized were: Grace Pflueger, Hayleigh Molina, Ellie Kindler, Hillary Scott and Lilli Smith.

Golf Team

The board recognized the Lady Owls Varsity Softball team for their successful season. The Lady Owls placed 2nd in District with a record of 13-3, are Bi-District Champions, Area Champions and Regional Quarter-Finalists. Coaches and team members recognized were: Coach Ashley Benson, Asst. Coach Max Haskins, Asst. Coach Adrianne Haskins, Zaidyn Streeter, Serenity Vaught, Landrie Durham, Zaylee Masters, Molly Young, Tori Bennett, Kallie Connelly, Kylie White, Evelyn Tate, Taylor Proffitt, Baylee Jones, Kyndal Lay, Shyanne Strawn, Ashten Stanton, Leilanie Sam, Araolyn Beaver, Catie Amador, and Emma Pizzolato.

Softball Team

The board recognized Loflin Middle School 7th grader Jeremy Perez for winning 1st place in the Cajun Classic Tennis Tournament in Baton Rouge, Louisiana over spring break.

Jeremy Perez

The board recognized the Staples Elementary Jr. Safety Patrol for being awarded 1st place in the State by the Texas Safe Schools Program for providing a safe learning environment for the students at Staples and for exhibiting leadership qualities for their peers. The City of Joshua Mayor, Scott Kimble, read a proclamation and announced that June 26, 2024 is Staples Jr. Safety Patrol Day in the city. Safety Patrol members recognized were: Matthew Goggans, Deborah Lanzara, Bri Batchelor, Izaeh Rivera, Carter Wyatt, Logan Green, Nathan Chacon, Riley Fricke, Manavi Choate and Logan Harlin.

Safety Patrol